Huelva #6 - February (ENG) - Reisverslag uit Huelva, Spanje van Tessa Keizer - WaarBenJij.nu Huelva #6 - February (ENG) - Reisverslag uit Huelva, Spanje van Tessa Keizer - WaarBenJij.nu

Huelva #6 - February (ENG)

Door: Tessa Keizer

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Tessa

28 Februari 2019 | Spanje, Huelva

Hi everyone!

I want to say sorry in advance, because I think this will be the shortest blog. I don't have much to discuss about this month, because I only had my exams and then I went home almost immediately. But here is the summary!

Immediately in the first week of February I have my exam week. I have 4 exams; marketing, planning & strategic control, macroeconomics and financial markets. I had the first two on Monday and Tuesday and the last two were both on Friday. The funny thing was, when I told a friend of mine (a Spaniard) that I had two exams on Friday, he looked at me in surprise and asked me if I hadn't asked the university if I could take one of the two exams another day. This surprised me. He explained to me that apparently it is not common to take more than one exam in one day. He also told me that you can therefore ask if you can take an exam on another day, so that you have more time to study. I thought this was funny, because I often have several exams in one day in the Netherlands.

I also noticed that you sometimes have 3 to 3,5 hours for exams (on paper). Because later it turned out that sometimes it was only an hour or an hour and a half. I also did not have an exam in one particular classroom or an auditorium. In advance it was stated online that there were 4 classrooms for us and that you could take a seat in a classroom at choice if there was still room. Later it also appeared that a distinction was made, especially for the English class and the Spanish class.

The professors who teach the course are also present. In the Netherlands it happens to me that superintendents are present at the exam and not your professor. This is not the case in Spain. All professors who teach the course are present. You also do not have to show a student card and there is no attendance list (which is the case with me in the Netherlands).

And time remains a special thing in Spain. One professor of mine arrived almost fifteen minutes late for the exam, which is simply not acceptable in the Netherlands. The professor in question did not worry at all. He also had to leave an hour earlier and announced this during the exam. Of course, we got some extra time, because he was late.

I also noticed that the doors of the classroom where we were sitting remained open. (Spanish) Students who had just had an exam were discussing the exam in the corridor and they didn’t seem to care that others were having exams. They were talking loudly. At first, our professor didn’t do anything about it and he did not close the doors, until a student closed the door herself during the exam. Later, the professor went outside for a moment and asked if they could be quieter. This would never have happened in the Netherlands and I thought it was funny and strange to see that the differences are so big.

After my exam week I relaxed. I had one free weekend, on Monday I would pack my suitcase and on Tuesday I already flew back to the Netherlands. In January I had 2 new housemates and one of the new housemates (Minttu) had proposed to make another road trip through the province of Huelva. This seemed very nice to me and I agreed immediately. I thought it was a nice idea to end my adventure in Huelva. Together with Camilla, Jonas, a friend of Minttu and Minttu we went to the south of the province and we saw a lot of nature. We went to Mazagón, part of the Doñana Natural Park and later to El Rocío. I will tell you more about it later, in a separate blog! But the day was very nice and very tiring.

Monday evening, I went out and said goodbye to everyone. It was quite emotional, because we had made a real friendship. I had said goodbye to Hanna and Marta before, since they were going to Barcelona for a weekend and from there they would take a plane to Seville and then back home from Seville. Camilla and Erika (and later also Jonas) waved me goodbye at the bus station and then I went home. At the airport I wanted to see if I could still see Hanna and Marta (we had calculated that it would just be possible), but when I arrived at the baggage claim, I saw that it was no longer possible. Of course, I had to check in my luggage and the band only opened when the girls were going to their plane. So, we said goodbye while we were on the phone.

The flight home went fine. It was not super busy, and the boarding went fine. Fortunately, no delay this time! Once I arrived at Schiphol I had to wait a while for my luggage. In the meantime, I had contacted my family. Only my father would pick me up, but when I walked into the arrival hall, I saw that my mother and sister were also there. A very nice surprise!

I was busy later this month arranging all the paperwork. I still had to have a lot of papers signed by the University of Huelva and by the Hanze here. I have received all my grades and I have passed all my courses, except for Introduction to Micro and Macroeconomics. But by writing this blog I can catch up with those points. I now only wait for my Transcript of Records (which I have to get from Huelva) and after that I can send all my paperwork to Erasmus +.

After this I will write a separate blog about all my travels and about what else I noticed and more hints and tips. And I'm going to translate everything into English. I hope you found this blog interesting and that you want to know and read more. Thank you for following my blog!

Love and see you soon!

Tessa

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Tessa

Actief sinds 15 Nov. 2018
Verslag gelezen: 4766
Totaal aantal bezoekers 5677

Voorgaande reizen:

30 Augustus 2018 - 12 Februari 2019

Studie in Huelva

09 Februari 2018 - 06 Juli 2018

Stage in Berlijn

Landen bezocht: