Huelva #1 - September (ENG) - Reisverslag uit Huelva, Spanje van Tessa Keizer - WaarBenJij.nu Huelva #1 - September (ENG) - Reisverslag uit Huelva, Spanje van Tessa Keizer - WaarBenJij.nu

Huelva #1 - September (ENG)

Door: Tessa Keizer

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Tessa

28 September 2018 | Spanje, Huelva

Hi everyone!

Sorry for posting this really late, at first, I tried making a vlog, but soon I found out that it was really time consuming and that’s why I started writing a blog now. I already made a concept in Word, but now I have decided to post it online.
I will upload every month, so that you guys have some sort of a overview how things are here in Spain and what I’m doing every month. From September 2018 until February 2019 I will be in Huelva for my study abroad. I will upload my blogs in Dutch and also in English, for the non-Dutch readers among us. Okay, vamos!

At the end of August, the beginning of September I arrived in Seville with my parents. Huelva doesn’t have an airport, so it is the most convenient to fly to Seville from the Netherlands (and you can fly from Amsterdam or Eindhoven). Transavia offers many flights to Seville, I believe 1 flight every day. Other possibilities are to fly Faro (Portugal) or Malaga (also in Spain). But the most convenient way is to fly to Seville, because from there you can take easily a bus to Huelva. My parents had rented a car, in my situation. And at first, we stayed in a Airbnb in Huelva. When you are coming / traveling on your own, I advise you to take bus EA from Seville Airport to “Plaza de Armas” in Seville (€4,-). Plaza de Armas is a big bus station. And from Plaza de Armas you can take a direct bus to Huelva (it takes 75 minutes and it costs €9,- more or less). Once arrived in Huelva, my parents and I explored the city a little bit. This is pretty easy, because the city isn’t very big and within 2 days you would have seen everything already. From September 3rd, I could move into my house from the next 5 months, but I have decided to stay a little longer with my parents, because they went home the 7th of September.

There are a couple of possibilities to find a house / flat here in Huelva. I have found my house thanks to the app / website “idealista”. Another tool is “Housing Huelva” and students and renters also offer frequently rooms in the Erasmus Huelva group on facebook. When you are going to study economics / marketing / tourism in Huelva, I would recommend you find a flat nearby the center or “La Merced”. There are actually 3 campuses in Huelva, and 2 of them are quite big. El Carmen is the biggest campus and this one is in the north of city, while La Merced is in the southwest of city. The students who study marketing, economics, tourism and other financial courses are studying at La Merced. Almost all the other courses are being taught at El Carmen. Besides, the nightlife of Huelva is in the center and close by La Merced. When you have lessons on both campuses, look for a house or flat a little bit in the middle. I live nearby a big park here, Paruqe Moret, and it’s approximately in between the two campuses. It takes me 10-15 minutes with the bike to go to El Carmen and it takes me 5-10 minutes with the bike to go to La Merced.

When I came in Huelva, I thought that school would start the 18th of September. After I booked my flight, I found out that school would begin later. The introduction week started September 24 and my first real week of classes would be on the first of October.

Halfway through the month my new roommate Camilla arrived. She is from Italy and she would also be an Erasmus student, just like me. Our other roommates then were 2 women who were both working, and they were both older than us (both were 37 years old). Camilla then introduced me to two of her friends from Italy, another Camilla and Erika. They helped me very much this month, by going out and also during the introduction week. Since I was the only one from my university from the Netherlands who went to Huelva, I had no-one in the beginning.

During my introduction week, we were introduced to an organization “ESN Huelva” and they told us that they planned a lot of activities in the first 2 weeks. ESN means Erasmus Student Network and they are in almost every student city.
On Tuesday we had a picknick, but it was actually a party. During that party our ground of friends was made. Via Erika I met Chris and Lisa (her roommates) and Jonas and his two roommates (Hanna and Marta). Chris is from Romania, but he studies in Germany, Lisa is from Sweden, Jonas from Germany and Hanna and Marta from Poland.
The next day we had a welcoming party in 2 nice clubs in Huelva and on Thursday we had a city tour. During the tour the members of ESN Huelva showed us some nice and interesting things of Huelva. That is how I learned that Christopher Columbus started his voyage in Huelva.

So for me, September was getting used to everything, exploring the city and meeting new people. My study program here will officially start at the first of October!

I will keep you updated! Hasta luego!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Tessa

Actief sinds 15 Nov. 2018
Verslag gelezen: 20
Totaal aantal bezoekers 5697

Voorgaande reizen:

30 Augustus 2018 - 12 Februari 2019

Studie in Huelva

09 Februari 2018 - 06 Juli 2018

Stage in Berlijn

Landen bezocht: